Fire And Ice

Some say the world will end in fire; Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.

-Robert Frost

I think Robert Frost is one of my favorite poets simply because his work leaves you so much to think about. I like to read authors who inspire and instill great thoughts and emotions. The length of the piece does not matter. Only the content present within.  For example here are two great authors and their poems:

FOG

by Carl Sandburg

The Fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on
.

In A Station Of The Metro
by Ezra Pound

The apparition of these faces in the crowd;
Petals on a wet, black bough.

Self-expression is a double edged sword.   Whoever wields the talent to touch hearts must realize that with a great power such as this, comes great responsibility.  Words have the ability to heal, but they also have the capacity to cause great destruction. Great care should be taken to construct a work with the consideration that each person reading will bring their own perspective to the piece and although it is your work when it begins, it ultimately belongs to the reader in the end.  Be clear, be precise and first and foremost do no harm.

This is the vow I take as I begin this blog.  I hope that you enjoy my words and that they are a constructive part of your day. I hope that sometimes they are fire and sometimes they are ice, but that in the end, they are always something entertaining and inspirational.  Take care, have comfort and above all else, have a wonderful today.

Onward and Upward!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fire And Ice

  1. Hi Mairi,

    I came to visit your blog site. I love your writing and you are a beautiful person. I hope you have a great weekend.

    ♥Joie aka Autumn on Kiddnation