Somedays, Some Sad Songs

Incredible woman, incredible talent – her songs will always stand out in my mind as  a part of my coming of age……
And now for your thinking pleasure, lyrics by Melanie:
 
Railroad
 
Railroad, where you gonna take me now
Been singin’ the low notes – want to get up
But the low notes bring me down
The low notes bring me down

Airplane where we gonna go today
I never want to go where you take me
But, you always get your way
You always get your way

Write it down now
Write a song about my friend
She did away with herself
To a rock and roll band

Da da da da da da da da da da

I got Satan’s cat
And I got God’s big dog too
I got love from a lot of the world
But I don’t get love from you, no
I got a lot from the bottom of the world
But I didn’t get a thing from you,
No, I don’t get a thing from you.

Write it down, now
Write a song about my friends
Who did away with themselves
To the tune of a rockin’ band

And…da da da da da da da da da

Railroad where you gonna take them now
They been singin’ the low notes
Wanted to get up
The low notes brought ’em down
The low notes brought ’em down
Oh, God, the low notes brought ’em down

Write it down now
Write a song about my friends
Who did away with themselves
To a rock and roll band

Da da da da da da da da da

In it’s own way, in it’s own day,  it was an “In the Arms of the Angel” type song.  I used to listen to the album this one was on when I was about 15 years old.  It always helped to know that someone else was feeling sad too, desperately trying to figure it all out, but still managing, somehow,  to cope.  So today I am not negative, just a little sad.  I know it will get better…

Ups and downs, lefts and rights
backs and forths, darks and lights

Can’t have one, until the other is done,

So hopefully tomorrow, we will “Ring the Living Bell.”

Thanks Melanie, you made a difference in my life…..

Have a good Wednesday all, I hope something really fabulous happens for you today……
Comments Off on Somedays, Some Sad Songs

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.