In the Last Days of 2010

I haven’t written lately because life has been so full.  Not so much the holidays, although they were wonderful, but just interacting and living my life.  My son Sam has become a comedian much like his big sister Fallon, and I don’t know quite how this family produces them, but they sure are wonderful to be around. 

I adopted a new kitten a couple of weeks ago and it was like Peyton Place watching him and the other two adapt to the new situation.  I lost my rescue Mdjai to cancer recently and the sadness was overwhelming, but when it started to clear, it’s almost as if he sent me to find this grey sweet tom that I absolutely fell in love with from the moment I met him.  Sammy named him Jean Luc ( I know, but I swear that’s the name he picked:), and it’s as if Mdjai trained him to do all the same things he used to do to comfort me.  He lays in the same spot between Woody and I to sleep and he purrs all night long. 

I wish Mdjai could have interacted with the other two cats, Jack and Nikki the way Jean Luc does, but I guess he had just been too sick.  His hair had been falling out for a long time and by the time we realized what was happening, it was too late to save him.  Jean Luc however, has immense strength, speed and spirit and gives the other two a run for their money on a regular basis.  I think Mdjai is somewhere in paradise happy that his family has someone that takes care of his family like he would have liked to.  Thank you Mdjai for being such a special being, and for sharing your heart with us while you were here. 

I have so much to be thankful for these days.  Sammy and I were sick for Christmas, but we are doing much better now.  Woody will be retiring soon and we will be building our new house.  I’ve reconnected with old friends and my life is full.  I work on websites and paint and make cards, scrapbook and I want to keep learning how to create more art, I want to learn pottery and sculpture and I never want to stop learning.  My family, the most important motivation in my life, are making big differences in the world and I am so proud of all of them. 

I don’t know how to say this and have it come out right, the way I mean it, but I will try.  I am grateful to my sister-in-law for giving us Sam, such a beautiful son.  I know we went though a lot to get to this place in the road, but it took a lot of courage on her part, after the adoption, to choose to hold tight to us, her family.  I hope that her life continues to improve and that she finds peace and happiness along the way and that she hungers for it so much that before she knows it, she is healed almost entirely.  None of us are healed in total from all of the stuff we’ve been through in this world, but the more we head towards that light, the illumination of being, the better we feel, and that is what I wish for my sister.

I want to tell my husband how very important he is in my life.  I want his children to know that his love for them is deep and without end. 

He sees Shawn and the pride he has in his oldest son is so strong.  Shawn, your father looks at you and sees a man that he knows will always do the right thing when it comes right down to it.  The faith and trust he has in you is a gift because he sees you as you strive to be, the person that your heart wants to be.  May you always be that person, because it is your life’s destiny.  You are a good and righteous person, and as long as you stay humble but confident, you always will be. You will find the answers that you seek as long as you always remember to keep your heart open.

Fallon, I don’t know if you know this or not, but your Daddy sees in you something he sees in no other woman in this planet, including your mom.  He sees you, proving to him that it doesn’t matter if you are a man or a woman, as long as you have that drive, that motivation, you can move mountains to attain and achieve great heights.  He sees the spirit he and his father have maintained throughout life imbued in you, that makes you look tough and tight on the outside when you need to lead the battalion, but soft and sweet on the inside, only to be shown when in the audience of those you love and trust.  You are everything and more that he ever expected in a daughter.  I feel the same way.

Woody, what can I say to tell you how much I appreciate your love and your devotion throughout the years?  We have been there for each other, through the ups and the downs and all of lifes little hiccups and some of it’s major earthquakes.  But no matter how much the earth shook, we held hands and kept on walking through it.  I’m am so looking forward to growing old with you because I know, that the best is indeed, yet to be:)

And speaking of the the future, I am so ready to face life on it’s own terms.  All of the old hang ups from the past are starting to fade, thank you God.  I’m starting to feel love and life and I’m really happy for the chance to get involved and be a part of the lives of my friends and family.  It’s a great big beautiful world and there is so much love and light.  Time to polish her up and see what the Genie of adventure brings:)

Onward and Upward!! Thank you God for such a beautiful day and such a beautiful life:)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “In the Last Days of 2010

  1. Woody

    Oh…stop making me tear up. Love U too Leggs!