Footpads on the Path: Feeling Fine

 

I love my path right now:)

For what seems like forever, I have had to battle odds that at times, seemed to overwhelm me.  But, with patience and perserverance, I am on the other side.  I owe every single bit of where I am to the one who created me.

When you are walking the wrong path, it seems like nothing is ever going to go your way, and the problem is that it never occurs to you that it might be the wrong path.  Because it is the status quo, you feel as if this is the familiar, the way you have always gone, so it must be the way to go now.  Not true.

Sometimes it is so important to listen to your heart.  It is important to let go an trust God and the plan he has for you.  Sometimes He will nudge you in the right direction, but if you are not listening or similarly distracted, He will apply a more firm hand in your guidance.

I taught for ten years.  I really enjoyed my job, but I didn’t love it.  That’s not to say that I am not happy that I took that path, but I was not very comfortable as I went through my daily routine as a teacher.  It was not a good fit for me, but I kept trying to make it work, as someone who tries to make a pair of shoes that are too small or too large for them fit because they seem at the time to be what they should be wearing.  God nudged me several times in several ways, until one day He decided the it was going to take something bigger to get me to change my life. 

The year after Katrina, I was coming back to work after the MLK holiday and as I was trying to make a turn, a student, late for school, crossed the road at a high rate of speed and took off the front end of my car and in the process, breaking my back.  I was in a back brace for 5 months and had plenty of time to evaluate my life.  When I was back on my feet God directed me to a preschool where I took care of a class of four year olds, which I thoroughly enjoyed.  After about six months there, I learned that my sister in law was pregnant and could not care for the baby.  So my life since then has been to care for and eventually adopt my son, Sam.

The really interesting thing was that while I was at the day care, I would see parents interacting with there children and yearn for a child that would again feel the same way about me.  Which I now know means I was walking the path God wanted me to follow.  He was preparing me for my life with my son.  I love my two grown children, and this in no way lessens that love, but God’s plans for me followed accordingly as I walked the path that He directed.  What a miracle!  The joy of knowing that God has you covered is just the best.  It makes me know that no matter what you go through, no matter how hard you have to fight, when you are doing it God’s way, it will all turn out as it should. 

And that is good enough for me:)

Onward and Upward!

Comments Off on Footpads on the Path: Feeling Fine

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.